Hothouse Talk

Helga Steppan

helga-steppan_final-motown-flat-lr

This talk, led by Helga Steppan, was to help us with our Collections project. I like her work, because even though it seems as if it’s a jumble of items and objects, it’s like an organised mess (a term I like to use to describe my room whenever my mum complains about it). Her work on collections, to me, is so aesthetically pleasing, even though usually I’m quite a perfectionist and don’t like things to me in disarray, however there’s something about her work which makes it so visually pleasant.

helga-steppan_see-through_colours_yellowtrace_06
Her work was not just about collecting things that were the same colour, but also to create a new world or universe in doing so. I also liked how she said that it wasn’t just her things, but she was also lent objects from people to enlarge her collections.

Leave a Reply

