Making a Living Week

“I began to realise how important it was to be an enthusiast in life. He taught me that if you are interested in something, no matter what it is, go at it at full speed ahead. Embrace it with both arms, hug it, love it and above all become passionate about it. Lukewarm is no good. Hot is no good either. White hot and passionate is the only thing to be.”
– Roald Dahl

15303982_10211351614091939_1635865847_o copy.jpg

I learnt a lot from these talks and I was really grateful to those people and companies who gave us their time and pearls of wisdom. Throughout them I was busy trying to take down all the information they spoke about, but here I’ll write about the things that stood out to me the most (which in itself was a hard task to do, since I feel like everything did).

MALW.jpg

One of the projects that really inspired me was Will Hudson and Alex Bec’s “If You Could“. They currently run the very popular It’s Nice That, but in the talk Will Hudson spoke about his early and humble beginnings. Him and Alex started If You Could, asking 21 designers to portray in their own style “If you could do anything tomorrow, what would it be?” The response they got was not what they expected, which taught me that I need to take risks and just jump at the opportunity.

Throughout the talks I also learnt that “everyone’s career paths are so different and surprising,” so I shouldn’t be worried if I’m going a different way to some people, nor should I try to follow everyone.

Creating opportunity comes down to ourselves, it is rarely handed to us. “We can chat about what projects can be for days, weeks and months, but it’s not until you start actually doing it, that it becomes something.”

Crowdfunding is great for creatives and good practice. A good place to start is with Kickstarter, which I had actually heard about before and seen a few people’s Kickstarter’s campaigns before. Often people support projects if there’s a cause and a reason behind them, because it shows that the people don’t just care about the money, but actually care about the project and want to make a change. However many Kickstarter projects fail, more than 50%, so when starting a project, you’ve just got to pour all your love and work into it.

Leading on from this you have to promote yourself and definitely not be fake: Be unique and memorable.
Work just beyond your comfort zone, but also not so far that you’ll give yourself a terribly difficult time. In the industry it’s always good to be open and honest, however when you meet with a complication or an issue, pitch a solution not the problem.

Finally I’ll put in this video we were shown by Arnold Schwarzenegger and his 6 Rules to Success. At first it just seems clichéd and like a laugh, but as you watch in you realise he’s actually quite right, and they are good rules to stick by.

Leave a Reply

