Map of Me: Visual Identity Book (1)

What is visual identity?
“Visible elements of a brand, such as color, form, and shape, which encapsulate and convey the symbolic meanings that cannot be imparted through words alone. In a broader (corporate) sense, it may include elements such as building architecture, color schemes, and dress code.”
(Source: Business Dictionary)

I didn’t quite understand what I a visual identity book was supposed to entail, so I searched up a few examples and here were my favourites:

Looking through a few examples, I thought about what I wanted to include in my visual identity book, so I came up with a few things:

  • An introduction
  • The logo
  • The places
  • Original photos
  • Typeface
  • Colours
  • Theme

From choosing the above samples, I feel like simple is the best way to go. I want to keep the book quite simple, yet still give out useful information on my whole app, so I’ve got to plan and think carefully about what I want in it and how I’m going to lay it out. The two examples display the logo throughout and also have a lot of space, something that I’ll take in to account. They also have clear themes and it looks very neat and tidy.

Leave a Reply

