Movement – Kinetic Typography

Kinetic Typography – “the technical name for “moving text”—is an animation technique mixing motion and text to express ideas using video animation.”

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 15.55.32.png

We had to create a video in After Effects using ‘kinetic typography’ which would be based on the movement we had chosen.

The thing that I like most about the Dada Movement is that it rejects logic, reason and aestheticism and instead welcomes nonsense and irrationality. I was thinking about what to do in After Effects and what I wanted to show and my mind drifted to the alphabet. The alphabet is a set of standard letters that languages use, however if you do not know that language then it seems like gibberish.
So with this idea I decided upon a video that would show the alphabet.
I did each letter in a different size and made them appear one after another.
To finish the video I added a soundtrack of myself randomly clapping, and timed each letter to appear with each clap.
Here is my final outcome: https://vimeo.com/217591500
Leave a Reply

